Producer: to be or not to be?

So the past two weeks in my crazy world of TV Production at Bournemouth University have, without a doubt, been the most eventful and strangest two weeks of my education so far.

Allow me to elaborate… (this will surely be dazzling and thrilling in every way possible, as I am currently sitting comatose in front of a computer, in a stuffy edit suite, at half 9 in the evening – after 7 days solid work and very little sleep).

So I arrived back from my weekend with ‘P’ (twas a blast, if you must know) and strolled into uni without a care in the world – it was then that I was told I would be producing a 30min news and chat show in the Sony HD Studio, and not only this, but it would be broadcast LIVE!!! And – here is the fun part – I had 3 DAYS IN WHICH TO ORGANISE EVERYTHING!! My face at this moment:

I first experienced a state of denial – no, no. NOOOOOO! Then anger – How could you do this to me????!!!!! :@ Then anxiety – ah ah ah ah what the hell am I going to do??? Swiftly followed by a surge of extra insanity. Before finally, I took a deep breath, told myself to stop acting like a pathetic, PMS-ing (Pathetic Man Syndrome) man and sort it out.

Needless to say, the show went swimmingly and, though I say so myself (not one to brag, too much) everyone was impressed with my thorough organisational skills and “attention to detail” (ah lol at the in-joke ;p )*

Will skim over my boring weekend of waitressing and coffee-making  with the wonderful summing -up power of the word BLEURGH.

Bringing us to Monday (yesterday) when I realised to my horror that in my haste to produce a live TV show, I had completely forgotten I was also co-producing a documentary, to be shot that Thursday and Friday. My face at this moment:

I think you get the picture.

What happened then was what can only be described as a threatening onslaught on the citizens of Bournemouth, in order to find some idiot crazy enough to be the main subject for our doc. After 4 hours of being hung up on, maxing out my phone bill, and collapsing in a state of ‘Ah I just don’t give a fuck anymore!’ I received a phone call from a lovely lady. She had received my 5 voicemails** and was free this Thurs and Fri for an interview and tour of her haunted pub. My face at this moment:

It was then that I had the realisation- maybe I am actually good at this producing malarcky? Or not.

Stay tuned to see how this all pans out 🙂

Love ‘A’ x

*in-jokes permitted, this being a blog that nobody reads

** exaggerations also permitted, because sympathy is needed from the many, avid readers of this blog

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

